AAS paper

For the upcoming AAS conference I am presenting research on advertising hoardings in Beijing.  I trace how these large scale images have been decontextualized in the popular press and argue for a recontextualization that takes into account historical precedents.  I trace images from the 1960s, 70s, and 80s to show how state propaganda has informed market advertising.  Below are some of my favorite research images, most drawn from my own fieldwork. 

One thought on “AAS paper

  1. Albert

    First!

    Best of luck on the endeavour, Liz! I support it because it’s another website I can read instead of doing my work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

